3 Are Automatically Re-elected Without Opposition

The October 12 ballot will be crowded, but the names of three parish officials will be missing. That’s because the three were automatically re-elected to new terms when filing closed last Thursday and they had no opponents. Re-elected without opposition were Washington Parish Clerk of Court Johnny D. Crain Jr; Washington Parish Assessor James A. “Jimbo” Stevenson Jr.; and Parish Councilman Thomas “Rusty” Fornea. Crain and Stevenson were first elected in 2011 and re-elected in 2015. They will be sworn in to their third terms next year. Fornea was just elected to the Washington Parish Council this past December in a special election. He replaced Phillipp Bedwell, who resigned the Pine-Thomas area District 5 seat in order to mount a campaign for state representative. Fornea will be sworn in next year to a full four-year term as the District 5 representative on the Parish Council.