Washington Parish President Richard Ned Thomas and Sheriff Randy Seal overcame stiff opposition to win re-election Saturday. Thomas took 52% of the vote to win his fourth term. He was first elected in 2007. Thomas defeated Ryan Seal 6,912 to 6,446. Randy Seal was elected to third term as Sheriff by defeating Olander Smith and Demille Topps. Seal had 7,169 votes, Smith had 6,043 votes, and Topps had 294 votes. There will be some new faces on the Parish Council, following Saturday’s election. Three Parish Councilmen were defeated for re-election, and two others did not seek new terms. So five of the seven councilmen taking office early next year will be newcomers. In District 1, incumbent Perry Talley lost. He will be replaced by either Joe Culpepper or Melvin Keith, depending on who wins a run-off on November 16. In District 2, Councilman Mike Fussell didn’t seek re-election, He will be replaced by Shawn Rice, who defeated Kendall Amacker in Saturday’s election. In District 3, incumbent Chris Workman lost his seat to Kim Wagner. In District 4, Councilman Levi Lewis didn’t seek re-election, He will be replaced by Clark Harry, who defeated Gloria Kates on Saturday. In District 5, Councilman Rusty Fornea won earlier when no one filed to run against him. In District 6, incumbent Reginald McMasters defeated Shane Smith to retain his seat. In District 7, incumbent David Anthony was defeated by Carley King. Fornea in District 5 and McMasters in District 6 will be the only returnees when the new Council is sworn in during January. Meanwhile, an amendment to the Parish’s Home Rule Charter was defeated by a 58-42 margin.